Chinese-Forums

PhD in China

spambolimbo

Hi all,

I've recently got it into my head to pursue a PhD in science, in one of the main Chinese universities. I have a lot of things to do before this can become a reality, but my post here specifically concerns learning Mandarin.

After doing some checking and emailing, it seems many universities require a HSK level 6, or higher, to enter. Some unis are willing to discard this requirement, provided that there are no barriers in communication with the thesis supervisor. Regardless, I need to learn Mandarin and so am wondering what it takes to get to level 6 proficiency. I've spoken to a Chinese friend and checked various websites, and what I understand so far, is that I should master 4000-5000 words, and approximately 2000 characters. That's useful information, but I'm interested in hearing personal experiences.

Is there anyone here willing to tell me how hard it was to go from complete beginner to HSK level-6 proficiency, or higher? I'd like to know how many years it took and how much time you invested on a daily/weekly basis. The type of study materials/techniques you used would also be helpful. I currently have a number of different books/CD's and am looking into joining some language classes at the local university. I have enough spare time at the moment to fit about 2 hours of solid Mandarin learning into each day.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

To be perfectly frank, I think if you're expecting to go from being a complete beginner to being able to pursue a Phd in Science using Chinese, I think you are looking at living in China for at least 6 years, including 2 to 3 years of full time Chinese study. Chinese is a bloody hard language, it will require a lot of sacrifice to be able to get to that level.

I have been learning Chinese for 4 years, have a Chinese gf which I only really talk to using Chinese but couldn't even contemplate doing a degree in Chinese and I still consider my Chinese to be good.