Chinese-Forums

Rosetta Stone Translation - Help!

thph2006

Can someone tell me how this phrase from the Rosetta Stone Mandarin II course should be translated?

417742432_ee147f26e6_m.jpg

S: 别对他太厉害,安梅,我肯定他是不小心。

T: 別對他太厲害,安梅,我肯定他是不小心。

The course doesn't provide any English translation (it's uses so-called immersion), but they do use the same material for all their different language courses so looking at the manual for their English course, the English for the same picture is: "Now don't be too hard on him, Mabel, I'm sure it was just an accident."

I'm a beginner so there's a lot I don't understand but for the life of me I can't extract the same meaning from the Chinese. It seems to me to say: "Don't be too familiar with him, An Mei, I'm sure he's not careful". Quite a different meaning. Where am I going wrong?

Ok, let's try:

别对他太厉害,安梅,我肯定他是不小心。

"Don't be too familiar with him, An Mei, I'm sure he's not careful"

Actually, you're almost there. The biggest question I'd have is where you got "familiar" from. If you think "厉害" means "familiar", then look up that word again. "厉害", like many other words, means all sorts of things but not "familiar". In this particular sentence, it's quite appropriate to take it as meaning "severe/ fierce/ tough/ formidable/..."

So now, you're almost there by replacing just one word:

"Don't be too severe with him, An Mei, I'm sure he's not careful"

When someone's not careful, they may cause an accident, such as driving carelessly. So, you can now add "it was just an accident" to your sentence without changing its basic meaning:

"Don't be too severe with him, An Mei, I'm sure he's not careful" =>

"Don't be too severe with him, An Mei, I'm sure it was an accident (because he was not careful)"

With those minor modifications, you now can see that there's hardly any difference between your translation and Rosetta Stone's own translation:

"Don't be too severe on him, An Mei, I'm sure it was an accident."