Chinese-Forums

Chinese Mountain Poetry -- Suggestions please!

cui ruide

Hey everyone, I'm currently studying Chinese poetry that specifically references mountains or is set in such locations. As a student of Chinese, I think it'll probably be difficult to seek out such poetry in the wealth of the Chinese literary tradition on my own, so I was hoping you folks could give me some suggestions of authors, individual poems, places, etc.--anything really to help me find some good ones.

To elaborate on what I'm looking for... Mountains have always had a special place in Chinese culture--places where kings went to meet with heaven, sacred places, places of ritual, homes of hermits and wisemen, places of clarity and enlightenment, places of dreams, etc. This place in Chinese culture has developed and evolved over the centuries, and my goal is to assemble a collection of poetry to somehow express the importance of this mountain culture and the evolution of this fascination. So I'm looking for Chinese poetry and songs that somehow reference mountains--ancient, modern, and contemporary, poetry, lyrics, or propaganda (though preferabl song-like or poetic); the references may be to a physical mountain, a famous mountain, a fake mountain, and even a metaphorical mountain!

So any suggestions, tips, poets, musicians, poems, songs, whatever, would be greatly appreciated!

and my goal is to assemble a collection of poetry to somehow express the importance of this mountain culture and the evolution of this fascination.

What an ambition!

let me see...

It seems that there were few poems on mountains ere 5th century.

5th to 6th century:

The first poet who wrote lots of poems on mountains should be 谢灵运 living in Northern and Southern Dynasty. Reference:

游岭门山、登永嘉绿嶂山、石室山、登上戍石鼓山、行田登海口盘屿山 etc.

Other important poets' works on mountains during this period include:

鲍照:登庐山 etc.

谢脁:登山曲、游敬亭山、晚登三山还望京邑 etc.

7th to 10th century: