Chinese-Forums

Preparing for my first ever HSK exam

novemberfog

I am planning to take the HSK exam in Tokyo this October, and I think I will be a bit ambitious and take the Elementary/Intermediate level test. I am aiming for level 4 or 5, which the HSK website shows as being the lowest level for entrance into technical universities. I'm not planning on studying in China, but I work in the semiconductor industry, so ... I don't know, it is just the goal for now.

I have been studying Chinese off and on as a hobby for about 5 years, and most of my Chinese study resources are from Taiwan and designed in 80s before there was an HSK. I am looking into getting some books to help my improve my listening and my vocabulary, as well as review the grammar points that are required for my target level. Right now I'm using ChinesePod to practice listening and pick up new vocabulary, but I think some resources that target the HSK are going to be important. I learned this the hard way with the JLPT -- if you don't study the word lists and grammar they test on, you won't pass, even if you function perfectly in a normal Japanese office or anywhere else! But I digress...

Like has been suggested in past threads, before doing anything I took a practice test for the HSK Basic exam. I didn't do so well, mostly because of vocabulary I did not know. My listening skills were weak too, and more than anything I want to improve my listening skills for the test.

I am really interested in this course that Roddy suggested before:

http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/846-excellent-listening-course&highlight=HSK+Listening

It appears, however, it only comes with cassettes. Does anyone know if there is a version witht he CDs available? Or if there is another text that anyone highly recommends, I would greatly appreciate it. I am really interesting in that learning course, but I'd hate to go buy a cassette player just to convert the cassettes to CDs.