Chinese-Forums

bigger class, better teacher, or smaller class?

hunxueer

hi all,

i'm looking for some of your guys' opinions on a dilemma i'm encountering. let me first give you the background information: i've been living in china just over 2.5 years, the first two of which i studied on my own, with friends, and tutors when i could find them (usually never last longer than a few weeks with any given tutor unfortunately). last semester i enrolled at a university to study and was put (rather arbitrarily; there was no exam or anything, and indeed, they were originally going to put me in the very beginning class) in the second-semester-level class, which i now feel was a bit low for my liking, but i didn't want to be that presumptuous and not be able to keep up.