Chinese-Forums

Which is the best way to learn Chinese?

Echoyao

There are so many different ways to learn Chinese now, such as tradional classroom teaching, podcasts, video shows, etc.

I have been thinking about which is the most efficient way. Or maybe it is better to use two or three methods together?

Any ideas?

Thanks.

If you have the time and money, an intensive summer program at a good school, like Middlebury, will give you a solid foundation. Of course there are advantages to doing immersion in China, but the advantage of a quality intensive summer program in your own country is that you can concentrate on the language exlussively without the distration of dealing with relocation hassles. Obviously no size fits all.

Thanks for all your suggestions!

I'm sorry that I should have explained beforehand. Just as I said in other threads, I am a third year student and major in Teaching Chinese as a foreign language. I have my own experience in teaching Chinese already.This is what I love to do and what I am going to take as a job in future. I have been thinking that how I can be a better teacher, that's why I asked friends here about teaching/learning Chinese problems.

Would love to exchange our teaching/learning Chinese experience:)

Thanks again.

The first question is, how do you define "learn Chinese" for your purpose? For getting at all the skills - speaking, understanding spoken Chinese (and which varieties?), reading and writing (don't even mention handwriting!), my university teacher advocates a year at home (meaning some 40 hours of study times 40 weeks) during which you concentrate on reading, vocabulary building and grammar, and then a semester or two in China.