Chinese-Forums

Anyone studying in Dalian this summer?

koreth

Just got my admission letter from 辽宁师范大学 this afternoon. I'm going to be taking a 4-week class starting 7/15, then hopefully heading to North Korea for a few days if I can work out the logistics, then down to Shanghai to visit a friend.

Anyone else going to Dalian to study this summer? Liaoning Normal or anywhere else?

I chose Dalian mostly because it sounds like a pretty pleasant place to spend a few weeks studying, and there's not as much English everywhere as in Beijing.

Hello... I'm currently studying in Dalian at TLI (http://www.dltli.com/indexen.htm) and will be here through mid-August. My reasoning for picking Dalian was pretty much the same as yours and I've found that it definitely meets the criteria for having very few English speakers. The foreigners around here are mostly Koreans, Japanese, and Russians. Even so, I see very few foreigners on a day to day basis and it certainly does[ feel like I am in a foreign land - unlike Beijing.

Still, if you're not careful you can easily spend your time at expat hangouts and not learn. But I guess that's a possibility everywhere you go.

- Mike

Cool! We should meet up and say hi, at least.

I'm hoping I have the self-discipline to avoid spending a lot of time at the expat hangouts, though I'm sure I'll check a couple of them out just to see what they're like. The fact that I'm there for a relatively short time will hopefully make that easier.

In addition to my classes, I'm going to be telecommuting part-time -- even though it's short, my trip is much longer than the annual vacation time at my company -- so if you see me hanging out at any English-speaking enclaves, feel free to tell me to either get back to work or go hang out at a Chinese-speaking place instead.

How are you finding the local accent in Dalian? Do you mostly hear Dalianhua out on the street, or is standard Mandarin more dominant?

• 2 months later...