Chinese-Forums

Specific questions about find work in China

jcheung_82

Hello,

I am a 25 year old male from Canada (Chinese background) looking to work in China. Currently, I am in the law enforcement/security industry with entry level experience. I graduated from a well-known university in Ontario, Canada majoring in Psychology. I can speak/read/write fluently in English (obviously) and can speak fluently in Chinese (Cantonese only).

I was wondering if there were any employment opportunities for me. I know there are tons of teaching opportunities and some business opportunities, but are there openings for the law enforcement/security field? Just to name a few, here are some positions I would like to get into: Police officer, traffic enforcement officer, customs officer, bodyguard, correctional officer, investigations, security officer/guard for the government (ie. airport security).

Can anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks!!!

it's my impression that it would be pretty hard for you to get any kind of job working for the Chinese gov't if you are a Canadian national. There might be some exceptions, but I think working security in an airport, being a police officer, etc., would be out of the question.

If you are really a security expert maybe you could get work for some private firm,

Or maybe you could be a nightclub bouncer in Shenzhen! :mrgreen:

I agree with what Xiao Kui said, I think the changes would be very slim chance for someone in your situation to get a government position. You may not know this, but police officers here are forbidden from leaving the country.

That said, I could see opportunities for you in a multinational firm given your language skills, however I don't know how you could go about finding these jobs other than by applyling directly to the companies.