Chinese-Forums

correct pronounciation - beginners question

j_spencer

This is my first time trying to speak Chinese and I just want to make sure I have the correct pronunciation technique. I am basing this on one of my Chinese books, which tells me how to pronounce vowels and consonants.

This is a conversation; I’ll have a line in pinyin Chinese, and underneath, spelled out how it sounds as if you were speaking it (in other words the pronunciation). Note - I’m ignoring tones for this exercise:

Ni shi jones xiansheng ma?

Pronounced: Nee shee jones xyenshun ma?

Shi de. Wo Shi David Jones.

Pronounced: Shee dir. Wour shee David Jones.

Ni hao, Jones, xianshen. Wo shi wang lin. Hen Gaoxing jiandao ni.

Pronounced: Nee how, Jones, xyenshun wour shee wang lin. Hen gowxing jyendow nee.

Qing jiao wo lao wang

Pronounced: Qing jeow wour low won

Hao de, Lao wang. Jiao wo David ba

Pronounced: How dir, low won, jeow wour David ba

Huanying ni lai zhongguo, David

Pronounced: Hwanying nee lai jonggwar, David

Is this about right?

Is the structure for getting the right pronunciation as follows: you look for the longest letter combination in the pronunciations list (pictured below), and work your way from the longest to the shortest letter combination until you find the one that fits in with the letters in your word? Maybe I’m not being clear, let me give you an example.

In the word zhongguo. First off, zh together form a sound (j like in jade) so you don’t need to look at both letters individually. Then refer to the vowels list, there is iong (pronounced young) but the I is missing from that combination in the word, so you therefore look for the next longest with this combination, which is ong. The next part of the word is guo. There is no combination for guo, but there is for uo. So you pronounce the g on its own, and then give the pronunciation for uo (war). Hence, the pronunciation of zhongguo is jonggwar. Is this right? I hope it makes sense!