Chinese-Forums

Offer to help develop adsotrans...

waynewalter

I have a dedicated server I can load the source there. I'm a very experience PHP developer and making rapid progress in learning Chinese. I speak English (first), French, and Spanish all fluently. So I really love your open source project to tackle Chinese.

I love adsotrans.com but it's missing quite a few common words. I translated the script for the movie To Live yesterday. It had "bed" instead of shop. It had other gibberish for single

syllable words which were really compound words.

I added a few that I found. But I want LOTS of people to participate to make it better. Don't you?

I see 2 MAJOR improvements needed to accelerate the progress.

1. The English translations need annotation that make it EXTREMELY simple to suggest a better translation by just clicking and then modifying the machine translation with a better translation.

2. The system needs to save all these suggestions with the original Chinese, the machine generated English, the suggested translation, and a couple sentences as context.

3. Editors need to be able to list all the suggestions by date and some brief differences between the machine and suggested translation.

4. They need a page to review them and copy and past charactes to add or change a word in the dictionary. That takes them to your current page for editing or adding words and parts of speech.

5. Of course, if a RULE change is needed instead of just a word, then there should be an option to click to submit a rule change suggestion to you. That can be just an email, if you like but it should also have the original chars, context, and suggestion. The editor can also add a paragraph explaining the reason a rule change is needed.

WHY do we need this? I spotted a dozen suggestions for improvements while studying a movie script between English subtitles, Chinese subtitles, the adso translation, and my dictionary. The move is "To Live" made in 1994.