Chinese-Forums

UNIVERSITY QUESTIONS

Bighead

Ok, being a total newbie and too lazy to do any real research I wanted to ask the people on this forum first. Actually I have tried researching but it seems very difficult to get simple, straight answers:

1) As a foreigner in China can I earn a BA from scratch in a Chinese university (of course I would study Chinese but I want to major in Media studies).

2) What is the approximate cost of 3-4 years tuition fees? (In Shanghai. Jiaotong for example)

3) Is the standard of teaching on par with that in the west?

(obviously a lot of Chinese students go abroad looking for a higher standard but I just want to know if studying say, English, in a Chinese university would be a total waste of time.)

4) Are there any other special conditions to consider?

Right now, I'm concerned mainly with the first two questions. The third and fourth I will consider more deeply later.

Any foreigner here studied subjects other than Chinese or Chinese culture in a Chinese uni?

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Cheers.

Hey Big head,

Other than perhaps in Hong Kong(and even there it is 50 50 , no other cities have degrees taught in English. (though there are some MBA english programs I think) This means that you will have to pass an HSK at level 4 (about 2 years of chinese study give or take) .

I knew several Koreans in Nanjing doing a 4 year Chinese degree. some programs let you transfer into the 4 year program after 2 years. A Canadian guy did that that I knew, but then your major choices are also limited.

A french guy I knew did a science degree but even he said that is didn't feel is Chinese was up to scratch and people gave him a pass to be nice I think.

Most cost amount the same as a semester as a language course , about $1000-1400 USD But once you start your classes of your major you don't take many classes outside your major unless you audit the classes.