Chinese-Forums

Living in hotel - need to register with PSB??

aeroo

Hello,

I am studying in China for 3 months. I know that if you stay in an apartment or someone's home, you need to register with the PSB, but what if I plan to live in a hotel for the 3 months while I study? Nobody seems to know for sure, including my school, and I can't seem to find any official information about that anywhere. This is the only info I found on the PSB website:

http://www.bjgaj.gov.cn/epolice/zhusu.htm

Temporary accommodation registration

Foreigners come to China temporarily and live scattered among home of local residents, should process temporary accommodation registration to the police station of this jurisdiction, bring with the inhabitant registration cards、I.D. cards of hosts and valid certificates of guests

Any info would be great.

The hotel will handle the registration for you. You may need to get confirmation that they've done this for your university or any visa extension - I think the hotel will give you this, if not they may send you to the PSB with a dated receipt for your hotel room. If nobody is asking you to show you've registered, don't worry about it.

You do need to register for the PSB, but the hotel will usually take care of this for you without you realizing it (that's why they need to scan/photocopy your passport and visa).

Also, did I read that correctly - you're going to spend 3 months living in a hotel room?

Unless things have changed in the past year, you should get a yellow "registration of temporary residence" from the hotel. This is the document you will need to extend or modify your visa, etc., and I think it's the same one the police give you.