Chinese-Forums

website translation

Guest meriljean

I've been an editor for intrnational students and business people for years. One thing I've noticed lately is that most European and Asian websites are well translated, but China's are generally not. They seem to rely on inferior translation or even on machine translation, which produces a kind of "word salad," with all the right words, but very little of the meaning. (I'm speaking specifically of sites advertising big companies or factories: chemical, agricultural goods, manufactories.)

Does anybody out there know someone who I could speak with to start a small business that would help websites reflect the professionalism of their companies?

How about the delicate cultural tightwire/business of letting someone know that their English website is not expressing the meaning that their pre-translated website does?

Thanks for your thoughts on this knotty problem!

meriljean

yes, very true. machine translation is neither practical nor ethical.

it is not practical because there is so much busy work that goes into the programming with very few benefits...

it is unethical because the goal of translation is to provide information in the exact context. machine translation breaks down communication and defeats the purpose of language.

That said, there is a place for machine translation. Human translation is very expensive. If you have a text that you just need the rough meaning of, and a machine can do it, then machine translation is justified. There is an awful lot of translation out there that is just sheer drudgery (I'm not talking about literary or business translation that might require fine cultural judgements, I mean technical stuff that could just as easily be churned out by a machine).

How about the delicate cultural tightwire/business of letting someone know that their English website is not expressing the meaning that their pre-translated website does?