Chinese-Forums

How to best use a tutor?

newyorkeric

I am a complete beginner who would like to start learning Mandarin with a tutor (I've found someone who is local). Does anyone have any advice on what things to work on together? I am not concerned with reading and writing, just conversation for now.

Thank you.

My advice is to go through the pinyin table from start to finish with the tutor several times. Repeat after the tutor. You'll need to do that in order to get a handle on the pronunciation. Read some technical explanations of the sounds online first, so you have an idea of what you should be doing. For me the hard ones were j, q, x, and the "u" with the umlaut.

Then make tones your focus. Don't take any shortcuts -- attack these two elements from the beginning.

After you master the pronunciation and tones, the battle is half-won and there is no "magic" to the process after that -- jusat good old-fashioned study and practice.

P.S. I followed this method and I am proud to admit that I have occasionally been able to prank call my Chinese wife pretending to be a Chinese person, and actually fooled her for a sentence or two!

Dear NY Eric,

If you're planning on learning writing anytime later I strongly suggest you start learning it early. The issue with Tutors is that they are there to adapt the lesson to what you need so you need to ask the tutor to be strict and a bit tough with you.

If you don't pronounce the words well at the beginning it will be much harder later on. Ask your tutor to give you homework and to correct the homework or test you on it each class. There is quite a lot of memorization espicially at the beginning

Focus espicially tongue and lip positioning. words zhan, zang, can can be tricky for native english speakers.

I think having a text book helps, the New Practical Chinese reader is good one but you can choose for yourself.