Chinese-Forums

An Introduction, my plans and some questoins

Ebbo98

Hi,

I am 31 years old, English, and currently working in IT which I have been doing so for over 8 years now. My current job is ending in roughly 18 months due to the company I work for being bought by a larger group. It is very complicated and boring so I will not go into any details.

Once I am redundant, I am planning to move my family to China. My wife is 29 and my children are 8 and 5 years old.

I want to move to China for the experience and to teach. I have always wanted to be a teacher and I have always believed that living abroad is something everyone should try but due to circumstances, neither has been an option for me. Now with my job coming to an end and my kids growing up, I think it is the perfect time. Money has never been important to me; as long as I have enough to keep a roof over our heads, I am happy. I have been lucky in that I have a job that is pretty well paid but I know that coming to China is certainly not going to make me rich. In fact, I am expecting the opposite to happen.

By the time we are ready to leave, I should have at least £10K saved not including my redundancy. Will this be enough for a family of four?

While in China, I hope to be studying to become a qualified teacher in the UK so that when I do return, I will be able to carry on what I have started. Would this be possible with work commitments?

Does anyone have any experience of taking youngish children? I have read a couple of threads but the children involved have been a bit older than my pair. If possible, I would like to send them to a local school but I would imagine that the language barrier would stop that. I intend to learn Mandarin with them before we go but I very much doubt they could learn enough in 18 months to be able get along. Would I have to live near a large city to get them into an international school, as I would prefer not to if I could help it?