Chinese-Forums

Some advice on listening and speaking?

G - Steven

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if y'all could give me some advice. The name's Steven, I live in the Netherlands, I'm 17 years old 'n I've been studying Mandarin for some three years now. Since september 2006 I go to the local Chinese school, which teaches the Huaqiao to learn Mandarin from scratch; the material is mainly focused on learning characters.

The thing is, my reading level is pretty high, so the Chinese lesssons from the school's texbooks are to easy. With support from the Chinese School I've taken the HSK Elementary-Intermediate level test. I haven't got the results yet, but from the exercise tests I did at the Chinese school for preparation I learnt that a score of 4 or 5 is most probable.

However, my speaking/listening proficiency lags behind pretty far on my character comprehension. One could say that Im better at Chinese (that is, characters) than Mandarin - the spoken part. I could read and understand news articles from, say BBC Chinese or Xinhua, but hearing the text spoken, I probably wouldn't follow.

As for that matter, the last real effort to improve my listening/speaking was Pimsleur. I had finished all 90 lessons before I went to Chinese School. Since then, I haven't made any major effort to improve the spoken part, mainly because I don't have too many options to do so.

I'm planning to go to Beijing in the summer of 2008 for 2 months. Back in the Netherlands, I'll begin my first year of Internation Law at the university; so I'm not how much time remains to spend on Mandarin.

So my question is, what do you think should be the best path to follow until then?