Chinese-Forums

What programs to get for Palm?

Stefani

Hello,

I tried posting this last night, but somehow it didn't post, so let me try it again, but I am sorry if this is double post.

I got myself a Palm TX as an early birthday present :)

I like to use it as a PDA, but also to learn Chinese. I am thinking of getting Plecodict, and maybe Supermemo (or is the 2.0 Plecodict will have the functionality of Supermemo?). Any other programs? I am a beginner and focusing more on the Conversation and reading (just started the reading part).

Thank you, xiè xie nǐ.

(using Pinyinput).

Stefani,

I have some recommendations on my blog (link is in my sig) for tools on Palm, among other resources. I don't know about Plecodict because I haven't bought it (yet), but I doubt the flashcard program uses a spaced-repetition algorithm as sophisticated as Supermemo's. I may be wrong though.

I would choose Plecodict over Supermemo. Making Supermemo cards involves input, but since Pleco has a dictionary, you can make any entry into flashcard in a snap (ZH>EN)

I think there are plans to incorporate a repetition algorithm into Pleco 2 - i'm sure mikelove will correct me if i'm wrong :mrgreen: . I don't think it will be exactly the same as Supermemo's, but I have used both programs (supermemo desktop version) and I find Pleco to be a lot quicker and user-friendly than Supermemo.