Chinese-Forums

possible jobs from studying chinese

mason12

Hi i am 16 years old, i aam English and i have been accepted to study Chinese at a university in China but i was wondering what possible jobs could i get after studying chinese for around 4 years? I know this may be an obvious question but thus far i have only been focusing on where, when and why i want to STUDY Chinese and i don't know what jobs are available to someone who is a language student.

Please could you advise.

Thanks

You may also find a job as English teacher in language school.

There's nothing wrong with this kind of job and it's a great career move for a lot of people, but I'd venture to say it's not what most people who are majoring in Chinese are looking for. People who love learning foreign languages tend to prefer speaking other languages over teaching their own. Though it might be a good way to support yourself while your studying if I studied Chinese 4 years and then got a job teaching English I would consider my education a waste. (Oh, wait, I got a four year degree in the states and spent 5 in China teaching English. But i've learned my lesson and I'm doing my best to remedy it.) :lol:

Translation is a viable option - if you go to www.translatorscafe.com you can read some posts by people who have made successful careers out of this. Being an entrepreneur in China or starting a company in your own country that deals with China is another idea. Often if you have another area of interest: software, business, etc. you can combine this with your knowledge of China to secure a job or start your own company. More and more western companies are beginning to deal with China and having fluency in Mandarin on your resume may give you the edge over someone else who isn't bilingual.