Chinese-Forums

Working in China - Salary question...

cute7

Hi everyone,

I am still a student but I was wondering about my future salary. I just read something on these forums that working in China could only bring 4000 to 5000 RMB. It was not clear what kind of position in a company that would be. But here is the actual question:

I am studying Bachelor of Business Administration in Germany. A well-known German magazine calculated the average income of graduates from my University. The income averages at 32.000 RMB per month (starting from the first month). This of course is only applicable to jobs in Germany. What I was wondering, if this German company sends me over to work in China, would my salary be adjusted to Chinese standards or would I get the whole package of 32.000 RMB? I am not sure about that. And maybe there is an international regulation for this.. Anyway, I hope someone can give some insight on this matter. Thank you! :wink:

the 4-5000k figure you are referencing is the typical entry level TEFL salary. Any other industry particularly if funded by a non-chinese company will likely be vastly different depending on the nature of the position

Hi Cute7,

Concerning non-teaching jobs. The issue is the difference between Expat package Jobs and Local-hire jobs.

Expat package Jobs are jobs where you are first hired in a western country and then sent to China to work. Because you didn't choose to work there you are paid 1) in Dollars and Euros i.e. 4 times the local salary 2) hardship pay might be additional 10-50% of salary and 3) Often free or subsidized housing. These on the low side are 15,000 RMB a month - 35,000 a month starting, on hte high side. (usually they are denominated in dollars or Euros so look smaller.)