Chinese-Forums

简体字 to 繁体字

Ari 桑

I'm planning to move to Taiwan within the next year. Because I have only ever lived in Beijing, I have little experience with traditional characters outside of KTV and watching Taiwanese movies and TV shows. While I have found those sources to be a good way to learn some traditional, there is of course the huge advantage of reading while the person is speaking or singing songs I already know. I feel like I should hunker down and really start getting myself familiar with traditional.

So, for those of you who have been in the same situation, what is the best way complicate chinese?

And also, in terms of writing, would it be acceptable to just learn how to read traditional? In general, would taiwanese people be able to understand written simplified? Do taiwanese have their own system of simplification?

谢谢您们

IMO, if you can comfortably manage written Chinese, then regardless of whichever script you know, learning the other takes very little effort to learn. It is the same language after all. The key is regular exposure.

Do you want to write 繁體子 or just to have no reading barriers when encountering it? If it's the latter, I think your method is fine. Just pay closer attention and make a more conscious effort to recognise it well.

Taiwanese can read some simplified characters, but unless they have had a lot of exposure to them, they have trouble reading entire texts in them. So if you just plan to write some small things for yourself, you can do without learning trad, but if you are going to follow classes or correspond with Taiwanese, it's better to learn to write traditional.

There are some special simplified characters here, like 点 that tends to get a 大 at the bottom instead of fire, and 關 that gets simplified the Japanese way. But there are not regarded as real simplified characters, just as 'handwriting', and as a result you'll see these and other, more regular simplifications only in handwriting.