Chinese-Forums

TLI Wangfujing (Beijing) - My Review

myann23

TLI Beijing Wangfujing Center – My Review

I promised to review TLI Wangfujing a few times in this forum but I’ve put it off because of a combination of studying Mandarin like a madman now and my laziness for writing the review. Better late than never…

I studied at TLI Wangfujing for approximately two months this summer from June to end of July. My Mandarin before that was a combination of using Pimsleur and Assimil and it gave me some VERY basic stock phrases to use when arriving in Beijing, but for all intensive purposes by Mandarin was very low when I got here. Since arriving in China I have experienced three schools – TLI, a group class in Chaoyang with about 13 students, and now in Dalian, Dalian University of Technology’s Chinese classes, which I’ve since stopped going to, and TLI Dalian.

My schedule at TLI was 3 hours a day Monday through Friday. THIS WAS INTENSE!

Initially I arranged it so that I would start my lessons at 9:00 am and end at 12:00 pm but I was too fatigued from this. It really depends on what kind of student you are and what you’re looking for, but for me it was hard for me to keep up in classes because at the same time, I had several other distractions which prevented me from really focusing on my studies to the fullest. On a good day I would study 2-3 hours outside of class and on a bad day I would study only 1 hour. If you want to reap the fullest benefits, come to class prepared. After my first month I switched my schedule so my classes started at 10:00 am and I had an hour break at lunch so I would finish at 2:00 pm. This was a lot better.