Chinese-Forums

How to pronounce "ying" as in 英文

mirgcire

I have been studying mandarin for almost three years and feel that I have a reasonably good understanding of how hanyu pinyin is used to represent words, but one word is really throwing me off. Hanyu pinyin is quirky in some ways but reasonably consistent. In particular, as far as I know, all words with the same final (and same tone) rhyme. But "ying" appears to be pronounced a little differently. I often hear it pronounced as something more like yee-ung. I know that is not much of a clue if you have never hear it pronounced this way before, but I am wondering if anyone knows what I am talking about and has some insight as to why "ying" does not rhyme with "ting".

My theory is that it is a regional thing because all the people who I have noticed saying this are from Beijing or Tian Jin.

Thanks for the reply Quest. As a follow up question, I am just wondering if this regional pronunciation also effects any other words with the -ing final?

And I am also wondering if anyone has captured a summary of typical regional differences? It can be pretty confusing talking with my friends from Shanghai, Beijing, Kunming, Guangzhou, Chungdu, Wuhan, Taiwan etc. I don't know how they understand each other. I have often thought of putting together a paragraph that uses all the common sounds of mandarin and recording how each recites it, then making a table of how mandarin changes in each of these regions. It could be useful for the traveler to know that in Guangzhou no one can pronounce the "sh" sound and in Hangzhou the "r" is different, etc.

Hahaha, oh wow its so true. I love beijing people and their whack pronunciation.

I'm very interested in regional differences in mandarin pronunciation, and I think I might make a project out of it, traveling around and recording peoples voices. As far as I know, there hasn't been a comprehensive study of the subject.

Minor accent differences would not hinder communication