Chinese-Forums

Learning useless words?

lilongyue

Hi y'all,

I'm in my second semester (level 3) at Zhejiang University, in Hangzhou. I wanted to ask those of you who are also studying Chinese in uni (or have finished their studies) about some of the vocabulary we learn. I'm sure we're all using the same books, the ones from Beijing (the grammar and listening books are blue and white). I know that some of the words are a bit antiquated, like 马马虎虎, and responding to a compliment by saying "哪里哪里." But what about the words we are told aren't used in everyday, spoken Chinese? I spoke to a translator friend of mine who learned Chinese 40 years ago about 几乎, and he said you do encounter it when reading, but it isn't used much in spoken Chinese. My grammar teacher told me that it wasn't used in 口语, and when I asked her about it being used in texts she said, "Well, since Chinese write like they speak now, you won't see it often." But my friend said that isn't true. So, for those of you at higher levels than me, what do you think? How much of the vocabulary that we learn is actually useful?

"Well, since Chinese write like they speak now, you won't see it often."

Well that's a lie...They write more like the speak now then they did oh, say 50 years ago but there is still very clear distinctions. Also it depends on what you are writing. If writing a blog it will be closer to spoken than say a letter of employment.

If you think you won't use a word my advice is to just store it in your mental filing cabinet because chances are good that you will use it or at least run into it. That is how I do it and so far I haven't been disappointed. Also for me I learn some Beijing spoken things but they are not used in Sichuan very much so I do the same. Store it up for tests or trips to the north, but will also see it in reading. Even if you think there is no use- learn it. You never know when you will wish you had spent the time learning it.