Chinese-Forums

Symbol for Happiness... Need Tattoo Help!!

elmsoc

Hi all, I am very interested in getting the Chinese symbol for "happiness" tattooed on my ankle. The only problem is I cannot be sure about which symbol means happiness and which doesn't! I have no knowledge of the Chinese language, no experience speaking/writing it, no nothing. so this is why I need your help!! I have searched online many times and come up with different results and symbols each time. If anyone can confirm, deny, or even post a picture of this symbol, i would be very grateful! and please, no guessing! this thing is going on my body for life!!

Below is a picture of two symbols of "happiness" I found on the internet.

p3c6d.jpg

Thanks! :D

Why you would want to disfigure yourself with writing in a language you know nothing about is a total mystery, but here we go.

The character (not symbol) for happiness is . However if you want to be more authentic and look like slightly less idiotic, you should probably go for 'double happiness' 喜喜 which is the traditional way to deal with the character - one happiness being a bit mean. This is usually seen at weddings - not often on ankles.

:roll:

You posted four characters in two words. The top word, huanxi, I know only as the Shanghainese work for like, love. Afaik it doesn't mean happiness. You can use the second character of it, xi, that doubled makes 'double happiness', like liuzhou says, used at weddings not on ankles.

You could also consider the second character of the second word, fu, meaning happiness. I've seen it used on anything from tea cups to curtains, in the west mind you, rarely in China, so why not on your ankle.