Chinese-Forums

Question for the business expats

mandarinstudent

I've got a question for the business expats here. Here's my situation: I am an English teacher that came to China directly after graduating college. Right now I am applying to MBA (click here for details)programs (hopefully matriculating in August 2008 ) and studying for the CFA level one test, testing in December. My Chinese is around the intermediate level. Basically, I can use Chinese to make friends and have simple conversations, but stuff like watching the news or reading high level text is beyond me. My wife is Chinese and we plan on living in China in the long term, ideally I would be working in Finance after I get the MBA. Assuming:

1) I get into the MBA programs I am applying to

2) I pass the CFA level one exam

I know that these are big assumptions, but just go with me here..

How would you recommend I spend my last 7 months in China after the CFA level one exam? This is my last window of opportunity to study on my own before the MBA starts. Should I take Business courses taught in Chinese at the University I am teaching at to raise my Chinese to the next level, or should I study for the CFA level two exam that takes place in June? Once the MBA starts, I will have no time to study Chinese or prepare for the CFA. Keep in mind that my long term goals involve working in Finance in China, ideally in a multinational corporation. For you expats in China, which would your company prefer when hiring, a prospective employee with CFA level one designation and higher Chinese competency (no HSK certificate to show for it), or a prospective employee with CFA level two designation and intermediate Chinese competency?

I would challenge this assumption.

Once the MBA starts, I will have no time to study Chinese...