Chinese-Forums

Acquiring a Chinese name.

doug86

hey everyone! im new to the board, my name's Doug. I just started learning chinese in preparation for a trip and i really would like to get a Chinese name. I have a transliteration of my english name however i would prefer a traditional name if at all possible. Can anyone help me with this? Any help would be greatly appreciated and i look forward to learning more from everyone on this forum :D

Well if Doug is your only name (i.e. if you have no surname and other names), then you could consider 德, pronounced "de2" and the meaning is virtue. You could call yourself 阿德 (A De), 小德 (Xiao De), 老德 (Lao De), etc.

Perhaps you can give some more information about yourself, like your full name, and the characteristics you want to have in your Chinese name. That makes it a bit easier to come up with something that actually suits you.

what does the other part of the name mean? as in xiao or lao?

xiao is "little", lao is "old". Xiao is very common in names, as a term of endearment, lao is also used out of respect and endearment.

Lao De would also fit well with the last name Lewis (sounds a bit like lao)

Alternatively, 陆 (lu4) means "shore, land, continent", and is a common family name in China, as is 柳 (liu3), which means "willow".

I think that 德 is a great choice. Other similar-sounding characters, like dao and dang don't have nice meanings and could look strange in a name.

陆德 or 柳德 sound good to me, but I'll leave it to a native speaker to confirm.

Besides 陸德 (lu4 de2) and 柳德 (liu3 de2), you could also consider -

陸偉德 (lu4 wei3 de2) or 陸維德 (lu4 wei2 de2) OR

柳偉德 (liu3 wei3 de2) or 柳維德 (liu3 wei2 de2)

Note - I write in traditional script but many members here write in simplified script. So the characters may look a bit different.