Chinese-Forums

Recommendations for Pocket Dictionaries

sirslope

Hello, everyone. I am a recent college grad and am just coming off 4 semesters worth of Chinese classes. Up until now, I have been able to get by with basic software, manual dictionaries, and online translators for most of my studies. This is becoming too slow and unwieldy, and I am looking to purchase a handy pocket tool. Price isn't important if it delivers strong functionality, and I'm leaning toward some kind of PDA -- but keep in mind I don't need any of the general features that come along with PDAs (e-mail, video recording, games -- none of that). Though I'm willing to put up with that if, as I said, the device itself functions strongly.

The most important feature I am looking for is rapid stroke-to-pinyin translation. I am not very familiar with the technology that's out there -- are we at the point now where a stylus can be used to detect strokes? In any case, I'm just looking for something that can extract the pinyin (not even necessarily the meaning) of a character as fast as possible. Speech recognition is a plus, but not a requirement for me.

I look forward to hearing your responses, and I certainly appreciate any advice.

Grab a PDA. If you don't need lots of cool features, probably grab an E2 or a TX, and not worry about a Treo. Then install PlecoDict on it.

It's quite quick, but you do have to write the whole character out. No way around that really. Or use radicals if you're good enough. I also don't think you'll find speech-to-text on a PDA of any form, anywhere. It's pretty restricted to desktops, but I haven't looked lately so I could be wrong.

Thanks. I have become quite adept with using radicals, so I might find over time that this is faster. But at the moment I have no problem with writing out complete characters. PlecoDict seems like a good fit.