Chinese-Forums

Interpreting a paragraph

DrWatson

This is a passage taken from a text I am studying from. I had a few questions about it and was hoping I might get some feedback.

1) 一聽可著了急 -- does this mean anxiously listening?

2) What does 他就到《她》那裡去 mean? I really cannot figure out the meaning.

3) 說甚麼也不肯去 -- Does this mean "say something also about not agreeing to go"?

4) In the final clause, what does 連 do/mean in this sentence?

爺爺一聽可著了急,上星期六就約好了,星期一把聰聰送進幼兒園,他就到《她》那裡去.誰知道今天聰聰特別不聽話,說甚麼也不肯去.他不禁嘆息起來;想當年,自己能指揮一個團,現在卻連一個五歲孫子都指揮不了.

Edit: thanks for catching the typo, studentyoung

2) It is a part of what is before it... 一。。。就。。。。 so as soon as he dropped of the kid at the kindergarten he then went to wherever she was at.

3) No matter what was said he wasn't willing to go 肯=愿意 说什么也不 no matter what was said, implying persuasion

4) 连 means even

2) It is a part of what is before it... 一。。。就。。。。 so as soon as he dropped of the kid at the kindergarten he then went to wherever she was at.
The 一 you're referring to here is part of 星期一。

3) 什么也不 and 什么都不 are fixed phrases, they mean "nothing at all", or "not anything", as in 我什么都没看懂 - I didn't understand anything.

1) 一聽課著了急 -- does this mean anxiously listening?

Here is a typo. It is not “課”, but “可”. The original text should be: 爺爺一聽可著急了(On hearing this, Grandfather became so worried).

3) 說甚麼也不肯去 -- Does this mean "say something also about not agreeing to go"?

“說什麼也不…… “ means “someone are so reluctant to do something no matter how hard you try to persuade him/her”.

他不禁嘆息起來;想當年,自己能指揮一個團,現在卻連一個五歲孫子都指揮不了.

连here means “even”. He couldn’t help sighing in his heart, “I could control a whole regiment, but now I can’t even control my five year old grandson.”

Cheers!

1.一聽課著了急.

Is tins setence "一聽可著了急"?

It means when grandpa heard the news he feel anxious at onece.as same as 一····就····

2.他就到《她》那裡去。"《xx》",xx is a book's name.But 她 is a person,so you can't use "《》"(書名號)