Chinese-Forums

Is it possible to teach yourself chinese?

bureiku

I think so. I was mostly self-taught. The listening will take a while to catch up though once you get in-country.

But you should have someone at least make sure your pronunciation/pinyin is good at the very start. From then the vocab building can take you to an intermediate level on your own. (except the listening - but there are podcasts etc for that)

I also self-study - with exception of two hours total that I spent with a teacher (who decided to concentrate on my tones) I have only used books, internet and my trips to China for practice, and had no teacher. It's been over half year already and I managed to survive in China for two months in summer (almost no communication in English - mainly in Chinese and sign language).

I must add, however, that you should have some background in language learning, ie if it's your first foreign language you should study first 'how to learn a language' and understand what works and what doesn't. Or, you can find it out experimentally.

Regarding pronunciation, I woudn't worry too much (I may be wrong!! only MHO) - I have mainly spent time in Yunnan/Tibet/Qinghai and practiced my putonghua over there, with people for whom putonghua is essentially a second language too (after the tibetan or whatever thier local dialect of Chinese is). I won't have cool Beijing accent but I managed to get myself understood in these places, and understand people there - even thought their pronunciation may differ from the standard.