Chinese-Forums

Why take the HSK?

lilongyue

I'm currently studying Chinese at Zhejiang University. I've already started doing part-time translation work, and once I've finished my studies I plan to work as a full-time translator. I want to translate historical and Buddhist related texts. After reading the posts by people who have taken the HSK, I'm really beginning to wonder what good it would do me to take it. Since I'm already working as a translator, I obviously don't need it to find that kind of work. I think that in most cases a degree from a Western university in Chinese would be sufficient, if someone wanted to see some paperwork for a position in a company. I don't yet have a Bachelors degree, but will mostly likely go back to the States after studying here and get one.

From what I've seen in the posts, the HSK seems to follow the Chinese tradition of placing difficulty over practicality when it comes to education. I believe someone who had been working as a translator for a year nearly failed the reading section (I think it was on the HSK Advanced). Less than a year into my Chinese studies at a University, I'm already getting sick of the Chinese approach to education (out-dated books with antiquated vocabulary, student-teachers with no experience, mind-numbingly boring books, etc.), and the HSK seems to be more of the same. It seems that most of the people on this forum taking the HSK are doing it simply out a desire to test themselves, and improve their Chinese. Is this right? Is anyone doing in hopes of improving their chances of getting a job?

A friend of a friend is studying law here in China, doing all of her study in Chinese, yet after taking the HSK (sorry, not sure which level) 4 times has always scored quite low. If someone's Chinese is good enough to study law in China, but not get a good score on the HSK, what is going on?