Chinese-Forums

How do you decide on a Chinese surname?

zunlei

First topic post, newbie here... sorry if this is out of turn/place.

How do I go about choosing a Chinese name, particularly, what "surname" do I use?

My mom has a Chinese name Yin Jiazhi 鄞加知. My dad doesn't have one but his mother's (my grandmother) Chinese surname is Li (don't know the character). My dad's father (my grandfather) isn't Chinese. Do I need to take either of these surnames?

My current English surname is closest to Jiang, Jiong or Ju...

Second, what do you think of this name: 蒋丽里 ... Could this be interpreted as "beautiful within"? My mom wants my Chinese name to have the word beautiful in it (she is my mother after all...) and my given name is quite close to "Li"...

Thank you very much for reading this post. I look forward to learning from everyone :-)

I don't really know the "right" answer to this, if there is one, but it isn't unheard of for someone to take their surname from their mother's side of the family. Sometimes this is because the mother has no brothers or something, and sometimes (from what my wife tells me) it's just because a couple has several kids and after the Nth one the mother just says "hey! how about we name the next one with my surname?"

If I had to hazard a blind guess I'd say that "Li" is probably Lǐ which might be 李 simply because that's the 3rd most common surname, but you should look into that to be sure as there are other surnames that are pronounced with a different tone and written differently.