Chinese-Forums

university student would like to use a REAL chinese name

Gotti

hi there!

I'm studying mandarin at university in Venice and i often go to China ( 香 港 actually) where my first mandarin teacher, not being able to pronounce "Andrea" called me 安 德 利. I kept this name and i'm still using it at school when we practice chinese conversations and replace our italian names with "Similar ones" just like mine. But frankly i would like to replace it with a REAL one,meaning something for real..

So can you guys tell me how can i choose one?Can choose my own characters?Should i ask to my teachers for help?

I know that first names in chinese can be both mono- or bi- sillabic ,but aside from that can i choose a name using 2 characters i like and which,together, sound good form the point of view of tones and meaning?

Thanks again

thank you very much for the ideas!

being a boy, i guess that 蕊 doesen't fit for me..(what a pity!i like the characther!)..keeping 安 is a good idea though..(it's reminescent of my real name!) but i don't like too much 睿..what could i replace it with?

Thanks so much!

Hey Andrea, what's wrong with 安德利 anyway?It's a perfectly legit and well-sounding Chinese name, although not "hardcore Chinese" if you know what I mean. 德 means having high moral standards and 利 means a benefit, so it's meaning-wise quite good. With Andrea being your born name, this combination is very true to its originality.

But if you'd really like to choose a Chinese name entirely independent of your real name, then I suggest you read a bit of Tang poets (or whatever dynasty), you will come up with many brilliant pairs~

As for 蕤, I personally, do not remember seeing this character. I don't even know it's pronunciation lol.

针对你的姓,“安”,一个小建议,“安久治”听起来比较特别一些,中国有句老话叫“长治久安”,久治这个名字稍稍有些日本味道,不过还是很传统的。典故有苏轼的策问里的一篇有曰:“汉之与秦,唐之与隋,其治乱安危至相远也,然而卒无所改易,又况于积安久治,其道固不事变也。”