Chinese-Forums

Chinese primary school books

DeltaS4

Hello!

I want to learn hanzi through the books used in schools of China but I don't know where can I acquire this sort of books... I already saw a chinese site with books like these but as I don't know hanzi yet I didn't understand which one I should buy!

so if anybody can say me a place where I can buy it and advice me some specific grade book I will be very grateful!

Actually, I'm not convinced that this would be such a terrific idea. I don't know about your spoken Chinese or your age, but primary school textbooks are usually directed at primary school kids with a lot of time at their hands, who already speak Chinese fluently. The pedagogic approach will be completely different from that of learning Chinese as a foreign language.

From my personal experience, what you need is context, not stand-alone characters. The first time I studied Chinese, I had two character classes a week. However, having learnt the basic strokes and the most fundamental character components, I found these entirely useless. In particular, I found it extremely difficult to learn characters from the character book: about 5 times the effort was needed compared to learning characters from my oral textbook (where they were put in context and used in words/sentences).

I know that there are some of people on these forums who believe that you should learn characters first, without context before learning speaking/listening/other things: I'm not one of these, but I guess we all have different learning styles. However, even if you want to focus on learning characters first, I would very much suggest that you pick up a book written for foreigners on the topic. It will just make things a lot easier for you. There are plenty of book lists lurking around these forums...