Chinese-Forums

Chinese r

Mandolin Bee

Hello! I started learning Chinese via Rosetta Stone only two days ago! ^_^ I'm pleased to have found this forum.

I've tried the search function, but unfortunately it came back with so many results and the first two pages didn't quite have what I needed.

I've read various descriptions of how to pronounce the Chinese 'r' sound, and through experimentation and audio examples, I'm inclined to believe that it is VERY close if not identical to the French 'r'.

You think this might be a good way to think about it, or should I abandon this association before I have it's a habit?

I hope this made sense.

-- The Bee

Hi Mandolin Bee,

I'm a native French speaker and the R in French and Mandarin are not alike.

The R sound in French requires you to make a rolling noise in the back of your throat, whereas in Mandarin it does not.

With that being said, many non-native French speakers who learn to speak French are never able to make that rolling sound, which in turn sounds very similar to how the R sound should be pronounced in Mandarin.

I hope this helps. Good luck!

What better way to learn how to pronounce "r" than a picture? (I have spent hours trying to figure out how to draw this diagram, so I welcome any feedback: positive or negative.)

The key to pronouncing the mandarin "r" is tongue position. The sound similar to the English "r", but the tongue position gives it a kind of buzzy quality.

As you can see from the diagram, the tip of the tongue is near those little bumps above the teeth. The buzziness comes from the air flowing through the constriction formed by the tip of the tongue and the roof of the mouth.

The word "ri" (日) is a good place to start. This word is pronounced without moving the tongue at all. Just position your tongue like the diagram and try to say "er". Now try it again with a falling tone and you should be pretty close.

tongue_zh.bmp

Hope this helps