Chinese-Forums

Renting an apartment with an L visa

dequila73

Does anyone have experience renting a long-term apartment on an L visa?

I have a 1-year multiple entry L visa that doesn't expire until the end of 2008. (I have to leave the country once every 90 days.) I am hoping to rent an apartment in Beijing and sign a one-year contract. However, I don't know if it's possible to get a residence permit on an L visa.

The agent I found the apartment with says there shouldn't be a problem registering. I am studying and working part-time, and the HR woman at work says that she is only able to convert my L visa to a six-month F visa, and it would take weeks. So, in her opinion, I would be better off sticking with my 1-year L visa.

I haven't found any good credible info online about whether Beijing allows foreigners to sign into a long-term lease on an L visa. Should I go down to the local police station and ask, or sign the contract and see what happens when I go to register?

As you can confirm through a search on these forums, registering at the PSB (police station) is not the same as getting a residence permit.

I have registered with a 3 months tourist visa already, so I don't think you should have any problems with that.

You might still want to think about changing your visa, though, as it is illegal to work on an L-visa.

I haven't found any good credible info online about whether Beijing allows foreigners to sign into a long-term lease on an L visa.