Chinese-Forums

How important do you consider learning how to WRITE specific characters?

ezpar

Hi all,

I've been studying Mandarin for about 4 months now. I come to you in a moment of frustration as I'm going over vocabulary flashcards. I can probably recognize a few hundred characters. I would say that I can actually write about half of them from memory without really thinking about it and another quarter of them if I think about it or sneak a peek at the character.

As for the rest, it's extremely frustrating to try memorize how to write out characters and words. I think I am something of a perfectionist in that I go through flashcard after flashcard trying to perfect every character, but it seems like this is a ton of effort for what is only a part of learning Mandarin. (At the moment, words and measure words for foods/drinks are killing me. It seems like none of them are sticking, even though I can recognize them.)

So, should I be killing myself trying to be able to write every character I learn, or is it okay to leave a few behind and concentrate more on recognition?

Thank you!!

It is okay to leave a few behind. Even more than a few. Think of the natural language learning process: a child, first they understand, then they speak, and then learn to read and lastly to write. As adults with cognitive learning ability we usually can skip and combine some of the steps and we learn to speak and read and understand about the same time, with reading it can be removed completely or mostly but I do not find that a good way to learn. But writing, it will be difficult to combine that step and learn everything fully the first time around.

Hi ezpar,

You'll probably get a lot of different responses on this, so take what everyone says with a grain of salt.