Chinese-Forums

Learning other languages

ezpar

At what point, while studying Mandarin, does it not become incredibly foolish to start learning another language? I've only been studying for a few months so I don't think it would be a very good idea now, but I'd like to brush up my Spanish skills or start on French.

At what level should one be before embarking upon another language? Have any of you started (or resumed) studying another language while studying Mandarin?

I might need to begin one of those relatively easy languages if only to boost my confidence.

I'm a beginner myself with just one year of study but I can tell you I actually have had to abandon my studies of all other languages --as well as reduce the amount of time devoted to other pastimes-- in order to study Mandarin. Maybe people who've been at it for longer have managed to learn Mandarin and other languages at the same time but my guess is that unless you have a lot of free time, unfortunately it's either Mandarin alone or no Mandarin. Again, maybe I'm wrong but that's my experience so far. And I still am unable to have a few sentences of decent conversation in this language... :roll:

ezpar, where do you live?

i think it all depends on your environment. if you have the ability to create a good environment for whichever language you're studying, then i think it's okay for you to study other languages as well. if you have only chinese people around you, it will be up to you do find creative ways (i.e. internet) to create your environment. if you have friends that speak the other languages you want to study, then that's going to help.