Chinese-Forums

confucius; old texts vs new texts.

zhuangzi#8

Do the Analects belong to the New Text School? And the texts discovered in Confucius' house are Old Text School?

I think it's strange that the Analects lacks metaphysical speculation. What are the main texts in the other School [their Chinese names] I want to buy them, as I am studying in Beijing. And do they contain MORE metaphysical elements, or less? E.g. references to Tian, spirits, etc.

Xie Xie!

• 2 weeks later...
Do the Analects belong to the New Text School? And the texts discovered in Confucius' house are Old Text School?

Hehe. I guess that you’re talking about the hermeneutics between the New Text School and the Old text School during Han Dynasty. (即:两汉经学古今之争)

所谓“今文”是指汉代流传的隶书字体,所谓“古文”是指秦代以前的字体。 “今文经学是汉代儒家的一个学派,与古文经学相对。西汉初年,儒家经书都用当时通行的隶书写定,由一批学者讲解,形成一个学派,叫经学。河间献王刘德从民间搜集书籍,‘所得书皆古文先秦旧书’(《汉书•景十三王传》)。汉武帝时,鲁恭王刘馀为了扩建宫室,拆除孔子故居,从墙壁中发现一批先秦古籍,也都是古文。西汉末刘子政提倡这些古文,形成经学的另一学派。后人把刘子政一派称‘经古文学’,与此相对,此前经学皆以今文经书为本,被称为‘经今文学’。后来两派又分别称为‘古文经学’和‘今文经学’。”(庞朴主编《中国儒学》第四卷,第14页,东方出版中心,1997年版)

http://cache.baidu.com/c?word=%C1%BD%BA%BA%3B%BE%AD%D1%A7%3B%B9%C5%BD%F1%3B%CE%C4%3B%D6%AE%D5%F9&url=http%3A//hi%2Ebaidu%2Ecom/zl5000/blog/item/754e61ad447b530b4a36d635%2Ehtml&p=b4769a45d6975df307b9c4710f0d&user=baidu

According to the texts above, the New Text means those Confucius works published in clerical script(隶书)in Han Dynasty. Its texts were popular at that time and lectured by royal-appointed lecturers.

While the Old Text means those Confucius works published in seal script (篆书) before Qin Dynasty (B.C.221-B.C.206). Its texts are slightly different from the New Text in Han Dynasty(B.C. 202 – A.D.220 ).

Therefore, whether the Analects (《论语》) belongs to the New Text School or the Old Text School depends on the version and the time it published.