Chinese-Forums

L visa extension

orangutan

Hi, does anyone have experience of this situation?

I came to Beijing on a one-year X visa but decided at the end of this semester to leave the uni where I am studying. The university would only refund my tuition fees for next semester if I first changed my visa, which they did for me. So now I have an L visa which expires on February 10. But I want to extend this.

Do you know if this is possible? Does the fact that I had an X visa before affect the length of extension I can get? Would I be able to get an extra or 30, 60, or even 90 days on the L visa or do I have to pay extra and try to change it to an F? Also, is the residency permit which I obtained when I had a student visa and which says it expires on June 30 still valid - or do I have to update it/change it since I no longer have a student visa?

Thanks in advance.

The latest visa received, regardless of kind, expires all previous visas in your passport. Since I can assume from your post your latest visa is an L one, your residence permit is indeed cancelled.

L-visas can be extended, although not easily.

A change into an F-visa might be a better option.

L-visas can be extended, although not easily.
This might have changed, but about a year ago, I could extend a 3-months L visa by a month twice very easily (i.e. going to the PSB, paying somewhere above 100 yuan, waiting a week). Two extensions were the maximum, and both could only be 30 days.

OK, thanks for that guys. I would still be interested to here from anyone who had an X visa, then changed it to an L and then still managed to extend the L.

Also, about the residency permit. Since that is issued by the police station, rather than the PSB which does the visa, will they even know that my visa has been changed? The residency permit is obviously on a separate piece of paper which still has an expiry date of 30th June. I have not moved house so it still has the correct address on it.