Chinese-Forums

List of components and radicals online?

billybills

Hey everybody I´m new to the study of chinese. I´ve read quite a bit about the Heisig method and I´m a big fan of the AJATT method; it seems to me to be the best way to go. So as a total newbie I´ve decided to learn a couple thousand of the most frequent characters and go from there with regards to pronunciation ect. Ive found a lot of helpful radical lists on this site and also great links to websites with freeware programs (wakan, zdt). I´m definitely going to start with memorizing the 214 basic radicals but I am also aware that there are common components in characters which aren´t radicals but occur frequently enough to deserve individual attention. Does anyone know of any list that has these common components of hanzi that aren´t radicals. I´ve search this site pretty good and could´nt find any threads on such a list . (There could of course be threads I didnt find). Anyways thank in advance.

#1 - Welcome to the wonderful world of chinese. :D

#2 - Sorry, I don't have the list you're looking for. :(

#3 - But I want to say some other things. :)

You said, "So as a total newbie I´ve decided to learn a couple thousand of the most frequent characters and go from there with regards to pronunciation ect."

Hmm. Maybe it's just the wording of your sentence... but I'm worried you might mean that you'll learn a couple thousand characters first THEN work on their pronunciation. Please don't mean that. It will take you a LONG time to learn a couple thousand characters, and if you don't have their pronunciation correct you have not actually learned them. Learning them means learning their pronunciation. Furthermore, I would HIGHLY suggest getting pronunciation right from the beginning and not having to correct it later. Especially tones. Say them right from the first time you say them, and never let them slide. They are part of the word, not something to be added later.