Chinese-Forums

Tianjin U. of Tech. / Visa Extension ???

Street Fighter

Hi. First of all on my X-visa it has an "Enter Before..." date, that I'm afraid I can't make due to illness. Is there a way I can get an extension before I've even entered, and will that date be enforced strictly?

Also, I was wondering if anyone has been to or knows of Tianjin Uni of technology... how does it compare to TU and Nankai? Does anyone know if there is a sanshou program or weightlifting facilities, or a gym on campus?

thanks alot

• 2 weeks later...
Tianjin Uni of technology... how does it compare to TU and Nankai?

Nankai Uni is supposed to be somewhat more famous and better than Tjanjin Uni. My cousin went to Nankai, and she had to be one of the top students graduated in her class in order to get in there.

Nankai is more famous might also be because "Zhou En Lai" graduated from Nankai. You can look him up if you don't know who he is. He's an important leader in Chinese history.

I studied at TUT for a few months during the summer of 2006, and I would say that TU and NU are heads and shoulders above TUT in terms of the quality of the teaching environment. Perhaps that was because I was there in the summer, but in general, I would pony up the extra money for another school. For places to study Chinese in Tianjin there are quite a few options that I would choose instead of TUT. There is a very good gym on campus, though, actually probably the best campus gym in Tianjin, so if that's important to you, it might be worth the decrease in educational quality.

Public Schools

Nankai: Already mentioned. Don't really like dealing with their school administration, though.

Tianjin University: Their administration seemed a lot more friendly to me, but I've heard their classes are easier, so if you're looking to be challenged, you might not get that as much here.