Chinese-Forums

Translate a romanized Fukien/Hokkien name into chinese

bubdub

My background is Chinese Indonesian and according to what I have been told my family spoke the Fukien/Hokkien dialect of chinese. My wife speaks cantonese and we would like to give our daughter a chinese name, but I can't give her the chinese character for my last name. What I am looking for a translation of my romanized chinese last name Tjiam into the appropriate chinese character. My pretty much pronounce it as it is written, but it is entirely possible that they are not pronouncing it correctly.

Many thanks.

Apa kabar? :-) I am also Yinni Huaqiao (Chinese Indonesian).

I was hoping that your last name will be listed here, but no luck:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indonesian-sounding_names_adopted_by_Chinese_Indonesians

Unfortunately I don't know, but I can find it in Google. I'll see if I can ask my parents the next time I talk with them.

Wow thanks for the link, unfortunately my father's surname isn't in there. The romanized chinese last name is Tjiam but my last name is Hardjana. I would greatly appreciate any help you can give. My wife is adamant on choosing a chinese name and will only finalize it once she know what my chinese name actually is. I did find my mother's chinese maiden name on there so it was nice to see :)

• 2 weeks later...
You mean Tjiam? You can't translate it in Chinese directly. You need add sth.... and if you translate it, it cannot be one word. You just can choose some of them.

Like Tan Jiaming.

Hi Cyndi,

What bubdub means is that his last name is Tjiam, in romanized / Indonesianized Hokkien. He needs to know what that character is and the Pinyin, so they can choose an appropriate name for their child.

In Indonesia, around late 1960s there came a regulation (although officially it was an "encouragement") for Indonesian citizens of Chinese ancestry to change names to Indonesian sounding ones, so the OP's Indonesian last name is Hardjana.