Chinese-Forums

Need to study with Chinese students to be fluent?

Guest yangbin

Well, recently i met quite a few foreigners whose the chinese language was quite amazing.

I know some people who have been living in China for a while, and even if their chinese is good, it does not sound perfect, and their reading ability is still slightly limited.

A lot of the foreigners speaking chinese on cctv did a degree in chinese (dashan, daniu etc...). Im doing a degree here in china, but taught in english, and even if i speak chinese, im still not proficient. Now im trying to read a lot of documents and books in chinese, i dont know if it gonna help me.

So, do you think that studying with chinese students is the best way to get a good chinese?

Hi, yangbin. Just think how children learn a language. At the very beginning, they listen to and repeat talking with adults, instead of reading books, newspapers or sth. So maybe languge exchange is a effective to improve one's oral Chinese or English. This is my opinion.

Good luck to you and your study book.

yangbin:

So, do you think that studying with chinese students is the best way to get a good chinese?

The question looks simple, but the answer seems difficult to give.

Firsr, the answer depends on what your final aim in learning Chinese is. If it is of communication/exchange level, I will agree that studying with chinese students may be a good way to get a good chinese quickly. If your aim is of culture level, then that does matter much.

Second, Chinese language we are talking about here is actually Putonghua of Han language. And in Han language, as you may know, there are a lot of dielects. And about 50% of the students may come from Non-Putonghua area all of China, they themselves speaker Putonghua with heavy accent of their mother tongue dielects. Studying with them, you may gain in spoken Han language, and you may loose something in the same time.