Chinese-Forums

X Visa Extention during Summer in BeiJing

dbanderson01

As the olympics are fast approaching, I am finding it difficult to extend my X visa here in BeiJing. Is anyone else also having similar issues?

I have been studying at BNU since July of 2007, and want to continue studying here in BeiJing for another year. The issue is BNU does not offer a Summer Program this year due to the olympics, therefore can not extend my visa for the summer. This leaves me with BNU only extending my X visa until June and not being able to extend it again until September when class starts again. When talking with the BNU office about this 3 month gap their only reply was just go home! :wall Obviously I would rather spend my money on learning chinese than airline tickets, hotels, etc.

The questions I have are:

1.) Does anyone know of any schools in the BeiJing area that will offer summer programs and can extend X visas?

2.) As this is my first time doing a visa extention, are there other options available without having to leave China?

Thank you in advance for your help!

Could you not ... get a 3 month tourist visa just before your X visa expires and then ... get another X visa when course starts again in Sept 2008 (which, hopefully, is just before your tourist visa runs out).

Just a quick clarification, its not the X Visa that needs to be extended since this is only used to enter China. Its my Residence Permit associated with the X Visa that is only valid until June. This issue is BNU will not renew the Permit until class starts again in September.