Chinese-Forums

Significance Of Radicals

EndOfTheLine

Hey, I've been studying Chinese (Mandarin) for awhile now and I am just getting into the process of writing and memorizing characters, this seems to be more of a challenge than I thought it would. I have looked online at some websites that list the radicals such as http://www.zhongwen.com/

The only problem is, I cannot seem to find the significance of the radicals in any of these characters. For example, the chinese character for the number five, Wu(3) has the radical of yi(1) in it, yet I do not understand how this has any purpose.

Another example is with the character bu(4) http://zhongwen.com/d/164/x163.htm

This character has yi(1) in it as well, but I do not understand how the chinese character for one, has anything to do with the character for no or not.

Long story short, what are the significance of radicals and how do they relate to the whole character itself, please give some examples too.

There are dozens of posts on radicals in this forum and elsewhere that answer this question in full. My brief answer is that sometimes radicals are associated with a character's meaning, sometimes not. Modern characters (particularly simplified characters - sometimes visual meaning is lost in the process) are not the same as the originals, and in some cases radicals have seemed to me (non-expert alert) to be an after-the-fact method of organizing an otherwise unruly group of objects. In many cases, radicals are very useful; say you know 女 means woman. Then, while you may not know exactly who 孟姜女 is, you can sure bet this person is female. I suggest you might check out some of the online dictionaries such as you mention and see if there isn't a correlation. There are also books on etymology that give explanations as to the meaning of many interesting characters such as 然.