Chinese-Forums

Master's Program in Chinese Literature: China or Taiwan.. or the US?

Lianhua

I will complete my bachelor's degree program (U.S. school) this December in East Asian Studies and really want to get a Master's in Chinese Literature (Pre-Modern literature) in China/ Taiwan in the future. In terms of my interests, wouldn't getting a Master's in Chinese Literature from China/Taiwan be the smart thing to do?

I definitely feel pressure to stay in the States for graduate school, because the U.S. schools have the prestige and the stellar reputation. But, I've already experienced it, I want to try something new. My heart says I should get the Master's and do research in China/Taiwan since that is the literature of the country I am studying. Why not go to the source? I feel like that would be such an enriching experience for me.

Some people are advising against getting my Master's in China/Taiwan, because they feel I might come back to the U.S. without any job prospects. Others think it's not a huge problem so long as I return to the U.S. for a Ph.D. What do you think?

How good is your Chinese? What are your long-term goals? If you are going to start a Master's program designed for locals, I would recommend going to Taiwan instead of mainland. Teachers in mainland universities spent a lot of time doing things other than teaching, and you may be disappointed by the level of discussion (or lack thereof) in the classrooms.

Hey there Lianhua,

I'm in a similar boat myself. Unlike you however, I'm stuck in one city (Harbin) for the time being and have to make due with what I have.

Here are some things I've heard about mainland universities:

If you get accepted, you get the degree regardless of performance. You see this reflected in the work force all the time (e.g. English majors who can't speak English).