Chinese-Forums

Beginner Help

necro1188

Hey guys,

As my first thread I would just like to say hello to everybody. I just started studying Chinese this week and I'm already running into a few problems.

My ultimate goal is to be able to read,write and speak Chinese. I've been listening to chinesePod along with other audio resources that I've found in the forums to work on my speaking habits. However, when it comes to reading and writing I have no idea where or what to start with. There just seems like there is wayyyy too much information and with little guidance I have no idea where to start. Now before you say "use the search function" I would like to point out that I have made an effort to search the forums with little results. So my question is where do I start learning when it comes to reading and writing. Keep in mind I just started learning this week and have no background in Chinese whatsoever. Below are a list of sources I'm currently using.

Hi, there! :wink:

First, I'm a Chinese native-speaker, and similiar to you, I've got some troubles in learning English. As you know, learning a foreign language isn't an easy thing, especially things like Chinese which is totally different from Western Languages...So, what we need are just interest, confidence and persistence.

First of all , I'm still have no idea about your nationality, I mean your mother tongue...

But whatever, I can recommend you some easy "helpers" for the beginner. One is CCTV-10. This channel is mainly about education, science and some talk shows and conversation, and usually the interview is focus on some celebrities but not those movie stars, the interviewees are really classic and has a high reputation in China's society. So, the interviews are of high quality. So not only can you learn Chinese, but also get to know our country.