Chinese-Forums

UIR vs. Dalian summer 2008

jhelvy

Greetings!

I have been reading away for days now and just cannot make up my mind. I am a 3rd year student at Virginia Tech in the USA and I have been taking Chinese now for 2 years. This summer I am planning to travel to China for some serious language study. I keep hearing mixed reviews, but have narrowed things down to:

1.) Doing some kind of university program like UIR in Beijing

2.) Going to Dalian (or another city smaller than Beijing with fewer foreigners). Perhaps do some private tutor lessons until the LNU program through the ARAQ network starts up on July 14.

I will be able to be in China as early as June 9, 2008. Any suggestions?

Priorities:

1.) As much language practice/learning as possible.

2.) Meeting people and making some good friends.

I am leaning towards a place like Dalian because from what I read you can get much more of an immersion experience there. Would I be missing out on anything spectacular in Beijing if I went to Dalian? Is there anything to do in Dalian besides study? I'm not much of a partier, but I don't want to be bored out of my mind for 2-3 months. Thanks for your help everyone!

I was both in BJ and Dalian last summer. I preferred Dalian, hands down, because I was so much more able to focus on my Chinese studies. Beijing is great for traveling and the nightlife, but I wanted a somewhat more quieter place to study. I hated using the subway in Beijing (but I'm a pampered person). I made too many foreign friends in Beijing, so I had to somewhat reset my Chinese studies and go to a different city. You definitely will find things to do in Dalian, but not on the scale of BJ. Dalian is cleaner, traffic isn't bad, it's by the sea, and it's also cheaper to boot. If your Mandarin studies are your first priority, I'd say go to Dalian and then take a one week trip to BJ and other cities at the end of your stay.

Mike

• 1 year later...

Hey,