Chinese-Forums

serious summer course for professional?

jiaoshou

I am a thirty-something professor of languages and comparative literature. Never been to China before. I am looking for very small classes, even a blended environment with group class and private tutoring, but most of all a serious study environment.

I would prefer to spend more money or live in a small out of the way town in order to have a superior language course.

I will go next summer to study for 6+ weeks, during summer break. I will have completed Rapid Literacy in Chinese in addition to the New Practical Chinese Reader 2 or slightly more.

I live in the Middle East and am in year 11 of study of Arabic. I'd also be interested in ideas for study in areas where there are considerable Muslim communities, but that is less important than the quality of the school.

Any ideas for a serious summer course?

I myself am planning on going to Liaoning Normal University in Dalian this summer through HYCC:

http://www.hyccchina.com/english/araq/index.htm

I based my decision on multiple high remarks on HYCC and the programs in the ARAQ network. From what I gather, if you're really serious about learning the language, then you will probably learn the most by going somewhere with fewer foreigners. The programs in the ARAQ network are in such cities, where you have to really use your Chinese to get around. I have never been to China myself, but I have already begun planning my trip with Mr. Wang and Adam from HYCC and things are going very smoothly. If you're looking for a 6 week program, they offer a couple on their website, and if the dates don't work out send them an email. I bet they could work something out.

You could consider our Study in China program that serves many professionals.