Chinese-Forums

Permanent Stay

pokeyzilla89

I am a university student in Canada currently pursuing a computing and information science degree. I am a native English speaker.

I would like to move to China, stay permanently, and eventually become a citizen. I plan on teaching English there. I read in some other posts that you can become a teacher even if you don't have a university degree or any teacher training. Do these people stay out of trouble because they only stay in China for a short bit? If I go to teach in China before I complete my degree, would I become a major risk since I intend to stay in China indefinitely? To avoid that, should I continue pursuing my degree, even though it is unrelated to teaching? That is, will a university degree make me legally able to work in China?

Also, is anyone familiar with applying for a work visa and eventually citizenship?

Thanks for your help!

Yes, you need a degree to work, at least as an English teacher, in China. It doesn't matter what the degree is in - I taught English for a while though my degree is in physics.

As for becoming a citizen, if you are not ethnically chinese, then you can forget it now.

If you have neither university degree nor any teacher training, then you will be limited in the availability of work. You should get one or the other but need not have both. The teacher training required can be as simple as a quick course lasting just a few weeks. Ultimately, the degree is most important. Especially if you want the widest range of potential job opportunities (which you would want if you intend to live here permanently).

Currently you can never become a Chinese citizen (unless your parentage is Chinese). Even if you marry a Chinese person, you still don't get citizenship. The best on offer is a very long term visa